Practice Areas

Our Practice Areas

California & Federal Crimes

• Assault •

Type of Crime: Assault and Battery Crimes
Assault is defined as: an intentional act, coupled with the present ability, to commit a violent injury upon another. In criminal law, assault is commonly described as an attempted battery however, unlike the crime of battery, no physical contact is necessary to be convicted of assault. If you, or someone you know has been charged with the crime of assault, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney as this crime can result in severe consequences including, either a misdemeanor or felony charge, jail time, fines, an order of restitution to the victim, and a mark on your criminal record for life. Kenner & Greenfield are highly skilled and knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys with extensive experience in all aspects of criminal defense. Kenner & Greenfield are committed to providing their clients with the most effective defense strategy possible. Please contact Kenner & Greenfield today!

• Battery •

Type of Crime: Assault and Battery Crimes
A battery is any willful and unlawful use of force upon the person of another. Unlike the crime of assault, a battery requires some type of bodily injury or offensive touching. Although a battery is considered a misdemeanor in California, a conviction for battery, much like a conviction for assault, may result in severe penalties. If you have been charged with battery, it is in your best interest to retain the services of a knowledgeable and experienced attorney. Kenner Law Firm have successfully defended many individuals facing battery charges. Contact Kenner Law Firm today!

• Kidnapping •

Type of Crime: Kidnapping
Kidnapping is defined as forcefully holding or detaining another person without his/her consent. However, unlike the crime of false imprisonment, kidnapping involves the movement of the detained person for a substantial distance. There are several different types of kidnapping. For instance, an individual may be charged with the crime of aggravated kidnapping where an individual causes: (1) the movement of any child under the age of 14 by use of force or fraud; (2) the movement of a person causing them to suffer serious bodily harm or death; or (3) the movement of a person for ransom. If you have been charged with any form of kidnapping in California, you will be facing very serious charges which may result in severe penalties. If convicted, simple kidnapping may result in a 3, 5 or 8 year prison sentence while aggravating kidnapping may result in a 20 year sentence of imprisonment. Given the severe consequences an individual faces when charged with the crime of kidnapping, it is imperative that such an individual hire a skilled and knowledgeable attorney with experience in the representation of individuals who have faced similar charges. Over the years, Kenner Law Firm have successfully represented several individuals who faced kidnapping charges. Call Kenner Law Firm today!

• Mayhem •

Type of Crime: Assault and Battery Crimes
Unlike the related crimes of assault and battery, mayhem focuses on the nature of the victim's injury. Mayhem is a crime that is committed under very specific circumstance but usually involves dismemberment or disablement of a person's body part. If convicted of the crime of mayhem, an individual will face severe penalties including, formal probation, 2, 4 or 8 years in state prison, and a maximum fine of $10,000. In addition, an individual may face additional penalties if any sentencing enhancements apply. For instance, if an individual is found guilty of the crime of mayhem and the victim is either: under the age of 14, 65 years of age or older, blind, deaf, developmentally or physically disabled, the defendant may face an additional 1 or 2 year enhancement for each violation. Additionally, if it is found that the evidence against you shows that you had the specific intent to commit the crime of mayhem and the act resulted in the victim's death, whether intentionally, unintentionally, or even accidentally, you will be subjected to first-degree murder liability under the previously described felony-murder rule. Given the severe consequences associated with a conviction for the crime of mayhem, it is imperative that you retain the services of an experienced and knowledgeable attorney. Kenner Law Firm will provide you with the most effective defense strategy and will do everything in their power to keep you out of jail. Contact Kenner Law Firm today!

• Homicide •

Type of Crime: Homicide
Homicide is defined as the killing of a human being by another. Murder and manslaughter are types of homicide. If a person kills with a legally valid excuse or justification, the killing is lawful and no crime has been committed. However, if there is no legally valid excuse or justification, the killing is unlawful and, depending upon the circumstances, the person may be charged with murder or manslaughter. There are two types of murder: murder in the first degree and second degree murder. First degree murder is defined as the intentional killing of a human being with deliberation and premeditation. In addition, a killing that results during the commission of a felony, even if unintended, is automatically first degree murder. Second degree murder is the intentional killing of a human being that is not premeditated or planned. Like the crime of murder, there are also different types of manslaughter. The most common types of manslaughter are voluntary manslaughter, involuntary manslaughter, and vehicular manslaughter. Voluntary manslaughter is defined as the intentional killing of a human being with adequate provocation or as an intentional killing committed in the "heat of passion". Involuntary manslaughter is defined as the unintentional killing of a human being. Additionally, killing someone during the commission of a misdemeanor is automatically involuntary manslaughter. To be found guilty of vehicular manslaughter it must be proven that while driving a vehicle the driver committed an unlawful act not amounting to a felony which caused the death of another person. For example, a death that results from driving under the influence, while unintentional is considered vehicular manslaughter. If charged with homicide, an individual will likely face a felony charge. As one may expect, if an individual is charged with any form of homicide, severe penalties including a state prison sentence, harsh fines, probation, and a "strike" on your criminal record for life, may result. Thus, regardless of the particular crime, it is imperative that if you have been charged with homicide you immediately retain the services of a committed, knowledgeable, and experience criminal defense attorney. Kenner Law Firm have effectively represented individuals who have been charged with homicide and will do everything in their power to keep you out of jail and obtain the most successful outcome possible. Kenner Law Firm know what it takes to devise and present an effective defense strategy and have a proven track record. If you or a loved one has been charged with the crime of homicide, contact Kenner Law Firm today!
Related Cases:
Hells Angels Members Aquitted In 2006 Sturgis Shooting
Oruncakciel Murder Case
Geddes Murder Case

• False Imprisonment •

Type of Crime: False Imprisonment
False imprisonment is defined as the unlawful confinement or detention of a person without that person's consent. While most commonly charged as a misdemeanor, if violence or fraud is used to commit the crime of false imprisonment, you will be charged with a felony. If charged with a misdemeanor, you will face up to one year in county jail. However, if charged with felony false imprisonment, you will face up to 3 years in state prison. If you or someone you love has been charged with the crime of false imprisonment, it is important to hire both an experienced and skilled defense attorney. Kenner Law Firm are committed to protecting the rights of their clients and will work closely with you to develop an effective defense strategy and obtain a successful result. Call Kenner Law Firm today!

• Robbery •

Type of Crime: Theft Crimes
Robbery is the unlawful and intentional taking of the property of another from that person's possession and immediate presence by use of force or fear. A robbery conviction in California counts as a "strike" on your criminal record and may result in a 2 to 10 year state prison sentence, severe fines, formal probation, and restitution to the victim. Given the severity of the penalties associated with a robbery charge, it is important that if you have been charged with this crime that you immediately contact an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney. Call Kenner Law Firm today!

• Receiving Stolen Property •

Type of Crime: Theft Crimes
The crime of receipt of stolen property occurs where an individual knowingly buys or receives property that was obtained by any type of theft, burglary, or robbery. Depending on the circumstances of your case and your criminal history, the crime of receipt of stolen property may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. If you are ultimately convicted of a misdemeanor, you will face up to 1 year in County jail. If you are convicted of a felony, you will be facing a term of imprisonment of either 16 months, 2, or 3 years in state prison. If you have been charged with the crime of receipt of stolen property it is imperative that you contact us immediately. Kenner Law Firm are committed to keeping you out of jail and will provide you with the most effective defense strategy possible. Call Kenner Law Firm today!

• Reckless Driving •

Type of Crime: Driving Charges
In order to be found guilty of the crime of reckless driving, the prosecution must prove that you intentionally drove a vehicle with wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. If convicted of this crime, you may face a sentence of up to 90 days in County jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. If, however, bodily injury occurs to someone other than yourself as a result of your reckless driving, you will be charged with reckless driving causing bodily injury which carries a possible sentence of up to 6 months in County jail, a $1,000 fine, or both. It is important that you hire an experienced and knowledgeable attorney as soon as possible. Kenner Law Firm will provide you with the most effective defense strategy possible. Call Kenner Law Firm today!

• Money Laundering •

Type of Crime: Money Laundering
The crime of money laundering makes it unlawful for any person to conduct or attempt to conduct a transaction through a financial institution with the intent to promote, establish, or facilitate any criminal activity or knowing that the monetary instrument represents the proceeds of or is derived from the proceeds of any criminal activity. Money laundering most commonly involves the concealment or attempt to conceal the source of funds which were illegally obtained. If convicted of this crime, you may face a term of imprisonment of up to 1 year in the County jail or State prison, by a fine of up to $250,000 or twice the value of the property transacted, whichever is greater, or both. If you or a loved one has been charged with the crime of money laundering it is imperative that you immediately retain the services of a knowledgeable and experienced criminal law attorney. Contact Kenner Law Firm today!

• Using or Being Under the Influence of a Controlled Substance •

Type of Crime: Crimes involving Controlled Substances
It is also a crime to use or be found under the influence of a controlled substance. A person who willfully and unlawfully used a controlled substance shortly before his/her arrest or a person who was willfully and unlawfully under the influence of a controlled substance at the time of his/her arrest is guilty of the crime of using or being under the influence of a controlled substance. A conviction of this crime may result in a sentence of up to 90 days in county jail. It is important that if you have been charged with the crime of being under the influence of a controlled substance you immediately contact the knowledgeable and experienced attorneys at Kenner Law Firm as they may be able to lower the charges against you or dismiss the charges altogether. Call Kenner Law Firm today!

• Selling/Offering to Sell and/or Transport a Controlled Substance •

Type of Crime: Crimes involving Controlled Substances
In order for an individual to be found guilty of the crime of sale or transportation of a controlled substance, it must be proven that you knowingly sold, gave away, imported, or transported a controlled substance. If convicted of this crime, you may face a sentence of imprisonment of 3, 4, or 5 years. Given the severe penalties you may be subjected to if found guilty of the crime of sale or transportation of a controlled substance, it is imperative that you retain the services of an experienced and knowledgeable attorney. Kenner Law Firm have over 40 years of experience defending individuals who have been charged with drug crimes and will provide you with the most effective defense strategy. Call Kenner Law Firm today!

• Manufacturing a Controlled Substance •

Type of Crime: Crimes involving Controlled Substances
To be convicted of the crime of manufacturing a controlled substance, it must be proven that you knowingly manufactured, produced, or prepared a controlled substance. A conviction for this crime carries the harshest sentence of any California drug law and subjects an individual to serve up to 7 years in state prison. Much like other drug related charges, the sentence for the crime of manufacturing a controlled substance may substantially increase if large quantities are involved, if an individual is injured or killed in the process, or if children are in close proximity to the processing location. Given the severity of the penalties imposed if convicted of this crime, it is imperative that you contact Kenner Law Firm immediately.

• Simple Possession of Marijuana •

Type of Crime: Crimes Involving Marijuana
California law differentiates between simply possessing marijuana, possessing marijuana for sale, and selling marijuana. The crime of simple possession of marijuana (for personal use) is defined as the knowing and unlawful possession of more than one ounce (28.5 grams) of marijuana. While possession of only one ounce of marijuana is only punishable by a fine of up to $100, if you are convicted of possessing more than one ounce of marijuana, you may face up to six months in county jail or a fine of up to $500, or both. The crime of possession of marijuana for sale is a felony and is defined as the knowing possession of a usable amount of marijuana with the intent to sell it. If convicted of the crime of possession of marijuana for sale, you may face a sentence of up to 3 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000. However, police officers often mistake simple marijuana possession for a marijuana sale waiting to happen. Since such a mistake may result in severe penalties for the accused, it is imperative that if charged with the crime of possession of marijuana for sale you retain the services of a knowledgeable and experienced criminal defense attorney. Contact Kenner Law Firm today!

• Possession for Sale of Marijuana •

Type of Crime: Crimes Involving Marijuana
The crime of sale or furnishing marijuana is defined as the knowing sale, furnishing, giving away, or importation of a usable amount of marijuana. While selling, furnishing, transporting, or giving away one ounce or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of up to $100, the crime of sale or furnishing marijuana is a felony and is punishable by a sentence of up to 4 years in state prison. Given these severe penalties, it is imperative that if you find yourself charged with the crime of sale or furnishing marijuana, you immediately retain the services of a knowledgeable and experienced attorney. Call Kenner Law Firm today!

• Theft •

Type of Crime: Theft Crimes
Theft is generally defined as the intentional taking and carrying away of the property of another without their consent. There are two types of theft in California: petty theft and grand theft. Petty theft involves the taking of property, the value of which is $950 or less and generally results in a misdemeanor charge. If convicted of the crime of petty theft, you may face a sentence of up to 6 months in County jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. Grand theft involves the taking and carrying away of the property of another, the value of which exceeds $950 and can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony. If convicted of the crime of grand theft, you will face a term of imprisonment of up to 1 year in County jail. Additionally, theft of an automobile or firearm is automatically charged as grand theft. If convicted of grand theft involving a firearm you may face 16 months, 2, or 3 years in state prison. Not only will a conviction for a theft crime potentially result in a loss of your freedom for a significant period of time, but such a conviction may also prevent you from obtaining future employment, state licensing, and other benefits. If charged with a California theft crime, it is imperative that you immediately retain the services of a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney. Kenner Law Firm will provide you with the most effective defense strategy and are committed to keeping you out of jail and safeguarding your future. Call Kenner Law Firm today!

• Burglary •

Type of Crime: Theft Crimes
The crime of burglary is defined as the entry of any structure with the intent to commit theft or any felony therein. If the structure involved is a residence or "inhabited dwelling", residential burglary, i.e. first degree burglary may be charged which is always charged as a felony. If convicted of first degree burglary you may face a term of imprisonment in the state prison for 2, 4, or 6 years, a fine of up to $10,000, and a "strike" on your criminal record for life. Unlike first degree burglary, second degree burglary may be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor and is commonly referred to as commercial burglary and encompasses everything other than first degree burglary. If you are convicted of second degree burglary as a felony, you may face a term of imprisonment in state prison for 16 months, 2, or 3 years, and a fine of up to $10,000. If, on the other hand, you are convicted of second degree burglary as a misdemeanor, you may face a term of imprisonment of up to 1 year in County jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If you have been charged with burglary please contact Kenner Law Firm immediately.

• Driving Under the Influence (DUI) •

Type of Crime: Driving Charges
In California, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. If you are pulled over by a police officer you may be arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) and may face criminal charges. If convicted of a first offense, you may face a sentence of up to 6 months in County jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and you may be required to complete a 3 or 9 month drug treatment program. In addition, the DMV will impose its own penalties and may require a 6 or 10 month driver's license suspension. If convicted of a second DUI offense, you may face a sentence of up to 1 year in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and you may be required to complete an 18 or 30 month drug treatment program. Additionally, the DMV may also impose a 2 year driver's license suspension. Each subsequent DUI conviction will subject you to harsher penalties and you may ultimately face a felony charge and a term of imprisonment of up to 3 years in State prison. The DMV may also impose harsher penalties including restrictions, further suspensions, and possibly even order the revocation of your driver's license. Given the severe penalties that may be imposed upon a DUI conviction, it is imperative that you immediately retain the services of an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney. Kenner Law Firm are committed to keeping you out of jail and will provide you with the most effective defense strategy possible. Call Kenner Law Firm today!

• Failure to perform duty following accident/Hit and Run •

Type of Crime: Driving Charges
If you are involved in an accident which results in injury to another person or the death of another person and you fail to immediately stop at the scene of the accident, you can be arrested for felony "hit and run". If you are convicted of this crime involving injury to another person, you may face a sentence of 16 months, 2, or 3 years in State prison, a fine of up to $10,000, restitution to the victim, and 2 points on your driving record. If you are convicted of this crime involving the death of another person, you may face a sentence of 2, 3, or 4 years in State prison, a fine of up to $10,000, restitution to the victim, and 2 points on your driving record. However, if no one else was hurt and only property damage resulted, you may be charged with misdemeanor "hit and run". If convicted of this crime, you may face a sentence of up to 6 months in County jail, a fine of up to $1,000, restitution to any victims, up to 3 years of informal probation, and 2 points on your driving record. Given the harsh consequences resulting from a "hit and run" conviction, it is imperative that if you have been charged with this crime you immediately retain the services of an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney. Call Kenner Law Firm today.

• Fraud/Forgery •

Type of Crime: Fraud/Forgery
The crime of forgery is defined as the unlawful act of signing the name of another person or of a fictitious person to any check, bond, note, cashier's check, money order, or draft with the intent to defraud and knowing that s/he has no authority to do so. Forgery also includes counterfeiting or forging the seal or handwriting of another and the alteration or falsification of any record or legal document. If convicted of this crime, you may face a term of imprisonment of up to 1 year in either County jail or State prison. If you have been charged with this crime it is important that you retain the services of an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney.

Contact us